Hi Everyone,
Just a quick note about the status of my area on the East Coast. As you know, Ale and I evacuated our house three days ago. Our new town got shaken up bad and currently 100% of the homes there do not have power- this means we are in no hurry to go back. We are at my parents' which is much more inland and we luckily didn't lose power (yay!) This is a huge win since 80% of people lost power in this town also.
I couldn't believe the images of NYC, NJ and the coast of CT that we saw on the news. I will keep all of the families in my prayers.
On another note, I haven't really gone into my views on Halloween here but they can be summed up in one word, SCAM. Don't get me wrong, I love Halloween for kids. I remember when I was younger it was so exciting to go to my school's Halloween parade during the day and trick or treating at night. It's such a cute holiday and I love having trick or treaters come to my door.
Last year, in NYC I was so excited to finally have trick or treaters come to my apartment since I always grew up in a location that was pretty desolate. I heard a rumor the day of that you had to sign up to receive trick or treaters at the front desk. Sign up?! I hesitantly asked the doorman thinking they would think I was delusional. Well, lo and behold the doorman pulled out a sign up sheet- not only did you have to sign up to have trick or treaters but you had to sign up for a time slot! Only good ol' NYC could find a way to put a procedure around trick or treating.
I believe that every home should have ample candy available for any and all trick or treaters under the age of 13. When I was younger and one of my neighbors had the lights out or didn't answer the door, I branded them with a forever negative reputation in my mind as cruel and antisocial. Also, I don't appreciate the houses that give one piece of mini size candy per person. It's lame and cheap.
Enough about my scarred for life Halloween memories. I really do love Halloween for kids but this holiday has completely grown into a holiday for adults. It seems like a sorry excuse for a holiday that girls can dress up like hookers and everyone gets drunk. I don't understand the logic behind dressing up as a sexy fireman or a skimpy pirate. For more examples of ridiculous sexy Halloween costumes click here. I think its time for a revolution. If you want to dress sexy, dress sexy daily for all I care, you don't need a child's holiday as an excuse to do so. If you want to drink, drink hourly for all I care, you don't need to replace the once innocent candy for shots of vodka. I vote that 2013, we take it back to the children!
Now as a result of this post, who wants to smash my pumpkins?!
No comments:
Post a Comment